Comal ISD Board of Trustees Honored with Student Talent

January 26, 2024 - Student talent was on full display to honor the Comal ISD Board of Trustees for School Board Appreciation Month at the January 25 board meeting.

Throughout the month of January, school districts and communities throughout Texas honor the community volunteers who serve on their local school boards. The 2024 School Board Recognition theme this year is “Locally Elected, Community Connected.”

To honor the seven trustees who make up the Comal ISD Board of Trustees, the boardroom was decorated with messages from students across the district as a way to say, ‘thank you,’ for all each trustee does for the students, staff and community.

In addition, the trustees received baskets full of student-created and campus-themed goodies from shirts and hats to keychains, cookies and more.

The board's celebration included student performances as well as student participation in the meeting. The Comal Shake District Champion Annie Conlan from Goodwin Frazier Elementary recited the Pledge of Allegiance, and the Comal Speaks District Champion Eva Gurule from Mountain Valley Middle School recited the Texas Pledge.

The board's celebration ended with a few student performances.

The dance and social officers from Canyon High School’s Aristocats directed by teacher Taylor Goodman performed the Canyon Fight Song. Dancers were Bailey Felpel, Kendall Gain, Porter Jurica, Presley Patek, Avery Wolf and Victoria Woolsey.

The Smithson Valley Middle School sixth-grade choir directed by teacher Carrianne Bernatis, performed “We are the Music Makers.” Choir members are Logan Alcantar, Ashlyn Baxter, Aubrey Blevins, Lucas Boortz, Lucy Bordano, Arabella Callaway, Ayana Campos, Leighton Cassady, Arlette Delgado Chavez, Olivia Elizondo, Layla Farace, Samuel Herring, Quinton Houst, Arriana Hutton, Kendal King, Reagan Kittelson, Lauren Laverty, Alyssa Mcquade, Camilla Meyers, Isabella Ramirez, Allison Rodriguez, Xiomara Rodriguez, Estreyah Thomas, Isla Torres and Chloe Williams.

The final performance was provided by the fourth-grade Mountain Valley Elementary School drum group, called “Da Boom Booms,” directed by teacher Alice Tuckness, the current Comal ISD Elementary District Teacher of the Year. Student performers were Jackson Bass, Cash Cameron, Zyliah Coronado, Tinley Duncan, Noah Grandmaiter, Natalie Greenhill, Tyler Henry, Kate Manos, Abbigail Navarro, Teagan Parker, Mason Rossing, Erick Strowd and Blake Tatro.

Danville Middle School art teacher Jennifer Massey presented each trustee with a portrait of themselves created by seven of her art students. The artists are Lilia Ballenger, Jadyn Cuevas, Allison Drichta, Brynlee Grier, Arriana Rahim, Aubrey Sralla and Jillian Wall.

The Comal ISD Board of Trustees includes President Russ Garner, Vice President Tim Hennessee, Secretary Courtney Biasatti, Treasurer Amanda Jones, Trustee Jason York, Trustee Michelle Ross and Trustee David Krawczynski.



-Members of the Canyon High School Aristocats dance team performed for the Board of Trustees at the January board meeting.

-The Smithson Valley Middle School sixth-grade choir performed for the Board of Trustees at the January board meeting.

-The Da Boom Booms, fourth-grade drum group from Mountain Valley Elementary School performed for the Board of Trustees at the January board meeting.

-The Board of Trustees were surprised with portraits of themselves created by art students from Danville Middle School.



Read more Comal ISD news here.